Vids featuring something reminiscent of Saturday morning TV

Where I grew up, TV transmission didn’t begin on the weekends till 8am. Still, I would sometimes get up earlier just to watch the test pattern, like the irrepressible square-eyed TV kid I was.

When I was seven, the first programme on Saturdays was the Beatles cartoon:

Ringo and the Beanstalk

So there I was, experiencing Beatlemania in 1982 in very low volume, mindful that neither the teev nor my sugary bowl of Snap, Crackle, and Pop woke up whichever Rip Van Winkle ‘rent I happened to be staying with.

Later came a marvel of superheroes, and a skedaddle of Hanna-Barbera, all ending with a World Wrestling Federation smackdown… (though that may have been a few years later).

So here follows a POW! WHACK! and SHAZAAAAM! of vids featuring something reminiscent of Saturday morning TV.

Young folks – Peter, Bjorn and John

You! Me! Dancing! – Los Campesinos

Guns blazing – UNKLE

Spider-man – Ramones
[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pj7bXVMN-cc]

Banana splits (tra la la song)– The Dickies

Sugar sugar – Mary Lou Lord with Semisonic

Throw it on me – Timbaland featuring the Hives

Lucy in the sky with diamonds – The Beatles

Along with Yellow submarine and Octopus’s garden, Lucy in the sky with diamonds was featured in a songbook issued to Australian schools in the 80s called SING! For a few years, Lucy was my favourite second only to My highland goat.
Without me – Eminem

2 Comments

Filed under vids featuring something reminiscent of Saturday mornin

2 responses to “Vids featuring something reminiscent of Saturday morning TV

  1. i didn’t get that Beatles cartoon, i show my husband (because he is a couple years older than me)and he said he didn’t have the cartoon either. Since i was born in 78 i thought i might have been too young to remember that show. We are both in agreement that we would have like to have that show!

    Again great collection…i am sure we could watch videos together for hours!

  2. Favourite fallen idol

    I remember that songbook so well! I wish I could find a copy of it now, so I can relive my days in the year 3 choir (1984). I don’t think I ever saw the Beatles cartoon, the only things I remember clearly from 1982 is a huge obsession with E.T. and Drew Barrymore, my Mum being pregnant and a boy from my class sticking my hair up his shorts at a school sports carnival.

    Enough of my bizarre tangent, so many good songs and film clips here! Reading your blog makes me wish I still had all of my old Rage tapes.

Leave a Reply

