Vids featuring a whole lot of dorking around on bicycles

Unless you’re, I don’t know, bunny hopping your stolen Mongoose on the hood of a cop car, all the while pulling bongs, burning flags, flipping the “bird”, and, oh, shrilly accusing random ladies and gents in the street of being “slags” and/or “dog fuckers”, it’s difficult to look particularly anti-authority and “rock” on a bicycle… and lord knows I’ve tried! Thus, it’s unlikely you’ll ever see a music video of, say, W. Axl Rose rattling a penny farthing along the Dickensian cobblestones of Sunset Strip, Hollywood, CA., despite his proclivity for spandex bike shorts.

But as I was saying… here are a few vids featuring a whole lot of dorking around on bicycles. Axl Rose on a penny farthing not included.

Girls like that – Custard

Ghost patrol – Gerling

Alright – Supergrass

Bicycle, bicycle, you are my bicycle – Be your own PET

Stop me if you think you’ve heard this one before – The Smiths

F.E.A.R. – Ian Brown

Read my mind – The Killers

6 Comments

Filed under vids featuring a whole lot of dorking around on bicicyl

6 responses to “Vids featuring a whole lot of dorking around on bicycles

  1. Jo

    Darren Hanlon’s A to Z features a nice bicycle ride (through Melbourne suburbs if I recall correctly). I only ever saw it once on Rage (the first time I ever heard of Darren Hanlon, who is now one of my favourites). I wish I could see it again. I keep waiting for it to turn up on Rage once more. It’s not on You Tube either. Damn It. Although Happiness is a Chemical is.

    Perhaps that could go in your entry for videos featuring people dressed up in animal suits. Or videos featuring daggy dancing. Ooh, can you do the latter theme? Perhaps Ca Plane Pour Moi could go in it – my childhood inspiration for daggy dancing that’s lasted a lifetime!

  2. jww

    you forgot the smiths “stop me if you think that you’ve heard this one…” http://youtube.com/watch?v=2_STy4L86lk

  3. See also the Smiths’ “Stop Me If You Think You’ve Heard This One Before.” Notable for sheer number of bicycles and intensity of dorkiness (read: Morrissey lookalikes of all genders).

  4. Salford Lads Club on the way to Strangeways (here we come)! It’s even signposted. How could I forget this? Thanks for the reminder, Philip and JWW. Now added.

    Jo – these themes are glorious. Yes, I’ll get onto them. Daggy dancing is subjective, though. One woman’s bustin’ smooth moves is another’s embarrassing most-uncool-parts-of raving throwback (I may be talking about myself). I once read some interview with Peter Garrett about his wild dancing, and he said something like (from vague memory):

    “It wasn’t cultivated… I just thought I was… dancing.”

    Here’s a great cool/daggy dancing clip. Le Tigre – Deceptacon.

  5. Miri

    OH—I know I am going to regret this. But…darl…how could you leave out Robin Thicke (son of Alan, much-loved, erstwhile dad from ‘Growing Pains’)….!

    His bike based action is to be much admired…genius-fuelled parody or misguided youth…you decide….

  6. HA!

    I will save that one for “dorking around on bicycles II: even dorkier”.

Leave a Reply

